Old School Cool

The second challenge for SL Top Model 2024 was titled “Grandpa-core.” If you’re of a certain age, this name could sound peculiar. “Grandpa-core,” or “eclectic grandpa,” is a style being embraced by youthful fashionistas. It consists of knit fabrics and vintage textiles intermixed with contemporary classics in earthy tones. I had quite a time styling this look.

I have a tendency to overthink when it comes to challenges, and grandpa-core was no exception. The key to this style was appearing relaxed and low-key with a young, hipster appeal. The only rule was no props, so I took this opportunity to wear elongated sleeves under a cropped tartan top. I also added these ruffled slacks and bedazzled loafers for a fun flair.

We were given a chance to receive feedback after the first two challenges, and I got a very positive response to my outfit. For me, the key to being a top model is paying attention to the little things while adding your own distinctive signature to every style. Just because a style is low-key doesn’t mean you can’t make it high fashion. Old school or not, it’s wonderful seeing generations of fashion meshed together.

  • Top and shoes: Addams
  • Pants: C’est la Vie
  • Hair with hat: Exile
  • Makeup: Ives Beauty, Identity Faces
  • Poses: PosESioN
  • Backdrop: Foxcity

Leave a comment